View all titles in the series
Add to Cart

Statistical Mechanics: Lecture notes

Lecture notes
Konstantin K Likharev


Essential Advanced Physics is a series comprising four parts: Classical Mechanics, Classical Electrodynamics, Quantum Mechanics and Statistical Mechanics. Each part consists of two volumes, Lecture notes and Problems with solutions, further supplemented by an additional collection of test problems and solutions available to qualifying university instructors. This volume is intended to be the basis for a one-semester course on thermodynamics and statistical mechanics. The structure of the course is mostly traditional though, due to the current interest in nanoscale systems and ultrasensitive physical measurements, large attention is given to classical and quantum fluctuations of various physical variables. A brief introduction to physics kinetics is also included.

About Editors

Konstantin K Likharev received his PhD from the Lomonosov Moscow State University in 1969 and a habilitation degree of Doctor of Sciences from the USSR's High Attestation Committee in 1979. From 1969 to 1990 Likharev was a staff scientist at Moscow State University. In 1991 he assumed a professorship at Stony Brook University, where he has been a Distinguished Professor since 2002 and a John S Toll Professor since 2017. He has authored more than 250 original publications, 80 review papers and book chapters, two monographs, and several patents. He is also a Fellow of the APS and IEEE.

Table of Contents

Preface to the Series



1. Review of Thermodynamics

2. Principles of Physical Statistics

3. Ideal and Not-So-Ideal Gases

4. Phase Transitions

5. Fluctuations

6. Elements of Kinetics

A. Selected Mathematical Formulas

B. Selected Physical Constants


Hardback ISBN: 9780750314176

Ebook ISBN: 9780750314169

DOI: 10.1088/2053-2563/aaf503

Publisher: Institute of Physics Publishing

Series: Essential Advanced Physics


« Back