View all titles in the series
Add to Cart

Classical Mechanics: Lecture notes

Konstantin K Likharev


Essential Advanced Physics is a series comprising four parts: Classical Mechanics, Classical Electrodynamics, Quantum Mechanics and Statistical Mechanics. Each part consists of two volumes, Lecture notes and Problems with solutions, further supplemented by an additional collection of test problems and solutions available to qualifying university instructors. This volume, Classical Mechanics: Lecture notes, is intended to be the basis for a one-semester graduate-level course on classical mechanics and dynamics, including the mechanics of continua, in particular deformations, elasticity, waves, and fluid dynamics.

About Editors

Konstantin K Likharev received his PhD from the Lomonosov Moscow State University, USSR, in 1969, and a habilitation degree of Doctor of Sciences from USSR's High Attestation Committee in 1979. From 1969 to 1990 Dr Likharev was a Staff Scientist of Moscow State University. In 1991 he assumed a Professorship at Stony Brook University (Distinguished Professor since 2002, John S Toll Professor since 2017). During his research career, Likharev worked in the fields of nonlinear classical and dissipative quantum dynamics, and solid-state physics and electronics, notably including superconductor electronics and nanoelectronics – most recently, with applications to neuromorphic networks. He has authored more than 250 original publications, more than 80 review papers and book chapters, two monographs and several patents. Likharev is a Fellow of the APS and IEEE.

Table of Contents

Preface to the Series;
1 Review of Fundamentals
2 Lagrangian Analytical Mechanics
3 A Few Simple Problems
4 Rigid Body Motion
5 Oscillations
6 From Oscillations to Waves
7 Deformations and Elasticity
8 Fluid Mechanics
9 Deterministic Chaos
10 A Bit More of Analytical Mechanics
A Selected Mathematical Formulae
B Selected Physical Constants


Hardback ISBN: 9780750313995

Ebook ISBN: 9780750313988

DOI: 10.1088/978-0-7503-1398-8

Publisher: Institute of Physics Publishing

Series: Essential Advanced Physics


« Back