Add to Cart

Particle–Antiparticle Asymmetry in the 𝐵 Meson System

Hiroaki Aihara


This book is a concise yet thorough study of charge–parity (CP) asymmetry, particularly within the B meson system. Beginning with an introduction to the topic, the book covers discrete symmetry, antiparticles and CP symmetry before moving on to CP violations in both the quark sector and the B meson system. It also examines the accelerators and experiments involved in unveiling the asymmetry within the weak interactions, and finishes with an outlook on investigations beyond the Standard Model. The book offers a fascinating insight into the research of CP asymmetry and is an essential reference for experimental physicists and other researchers related to the field.

Key Features

  • Comprehensive study of charge–parity (CP) asymmetry within the B meson system
  • Examines accelerators and the experiments that help to unveil the asymmetry within the weak interactions
  • Offers an outlook on investigations in the field beyond the Standard Model
  • An essential reference for experimental physicists and other researchers related to the field

About Editors

Hiroaki Aihara is professor at the University of Tokyo in the field of high-energy particle physics. He has a keen interest in physics involving heavy elementary particles, top quark, bottom quark and tau lepton. After working on the TOPAZ experiment at Tristan electron–positron collider at KEK and the D∅ experiment at Tevatron proton–antiproton collider at Fermilab, he served as a co-leader of the Belle experiment at KEKB B factory. Belle made the first observation of particle–antiparticle symmetry in the B meson system in 2001 with the BaBar experiment at SLAC. Recently he has been working on the T2K neutrino oscillation experiment, the Belle II experiment at the SuperKEKB accelerator, and a dark energy survey with a new wide-field CCD camera mounted on Subaru telescope.

Table of Contents


Paperback ISBN: 9780750336499

Ebook ISBN: 9780750336512

DOI: 10.1088/978-0-7503-3651-2

Publisher: Institute of Physics Publishing


« Back